SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT skip to main content

Echocardiography

Echocardiography


Program Summary

The Hill College Echocardiography Program is a two-year course of study leading to  an associate of applied science degree in Echocardiography Technology. It prepares a student to enter the workforce as an echocardiography technician producing echocardiograms.

An echocardiogram is a painless, noninvasive procedure using ultrasound waves to create pictures and take measurements of the inside of a person’s heart.

The Hill College program is comprehensive through the teaching of scanning skills, pathophysiology, cardiovascular pharmacology and all the skills and knowledge necessary to become a registered cardiac sonographer.

The program also includes more than 900 hours of clinical work performed at hospitals and clinics.

SAMPLING OF CLASSES

  • Basic Ultrasound Physics
  • Cardiovascular Pharmacology
  • Principles of Adult Echocardiography
  • Echocardiographic Evaluation of Pathology
  • Anatomy & Physiology
  • Diagnostic Electrocardiography
  • Advanced Echocardiography    
  • Clinical

career-coach-image.png


PROGRAM HIGHLIGHTS
Under Construction.
Please check back later for updated information

 

Dean of Instruction, Health and Community Services
Lori Moseley, MSN, RN, (254) 659-7921 or (817) 760-5920, lmoseley@hillcollege.edu, Office Hours

Program Coordinator
Julie Britain, RDCS, (817) 760-5936, jbritain@hillcollege.edu, Office Hours

Faculty
Darla Whitehead, RCS, (817) 760-5933 dwhitehead@hillcollege.edu


Echocardiography Lab support
Felicia Harris, RCS, fharris@hillcollege.edu

Faculty Support
Julie Britton, (817) 760-5921, jbritton@hillcollege.edu
Teresa Palinkas, (254) 659-7920, tpalinkas@hillcollege.edu


Echocardiography Education Pathway and Application requirements


Program Information

 

CLICK HERE TO APPLY

Program Location:  Cleburne
Next program entry: Spring 2019

Application/document submission timeline:  June 1 - November 1, 2018

HESI testing deadline for completion:  October 31, 2018
HESI test fee:  $50.00
HESI minimum passing:  Math 60%; Reading 65%


Under Construction.
Please check back later for updated information

CAAHEP accreditation

 

Pass Rate on National Credentialing Exam
Year Pass Rate Retention Positive Placement
2014 100% 83% 70%
2015 88% 89% 79%
2016 100% 91% 90%

 

 


Background requirement all students


For students in this course who may have a criminal background, please be advised that the background could keep you from being licensed by the State of Texas.  If you have a question about your background and licensure, please speak with your faculty member or the department chair.  You also have the right to request a criminal history evaluation letter from the applicable licensing agency.

Background Check Procedure:

Cost $51.00

Hill College has partnered with Verified Credentials to manage your Background Check: using http://www.verifiedcredentials.com/

How It Works:

Enter Program Code:  BBKPC26727
Create an Account
Enter all required information
Provide supporting documentation
Track your progress
Information will automatically be shared with your school
If you have any questions, our Client Services Team is ready to assist you.  Please call us at 800.938.6090 or email us at clientservices@verifiedcredentials.com