Hill College Phi Theta Kappa chapter inducts 31 new members

  Hill College
  Wednesday, April 4, 2018 4:21 PM
  General Events

Hillsboro, TX

The Nu Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) at Hill College held their spring induction ceremony March 27 in the Vara Martin Daniel Performing Arts Center on the Hill County Campus. Thirty-one new students were inducted into the chapter. 

The Nu Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa was chartered by Hill College on Nov. 17, 1964. PTK is the international honorary scholarship society for community and technical colleges. The purposes of the society are to promote scholarship, develop character, and cultivate fellowship among the students of the junior colleges of the United States.

PTK requires that academic work has been completed in academic courses leading to an associate’s degree in order to be invited for membership. To be eligible for membership, students must have completed at least 12 hours of work in academic and core curriculum courses leading to an associate’s degree and be TSI complete and compliant. Students must also achieve a 3.5 grade point average in all academic work attempted. 

PTK members Ashley Castillo, Aishat Lawal and Hannah Ownby have been selected for Hill College’s All-Texas Academic Team. The All-Texas Academic Teams seek to honor outstanding students from a variety of background and disciplines to hold up as representatives of all outstanding two-year college students.

PTK faculty advisors are Ms. Jenny Corder, drama instructor, and Mr. Jim Williamson, psychology instructor.

2017-2018 officers:

President - Casi Wood

Vice President - Margaret Raines

Secretary - Hannah Ownby

Hill County Campus Representative - Brazos McPeek

Johnson County Campus Representative - Michaela Sedivy

Burleson Center Representative - Katherine Vernon


Phi Theta Kappa Spring 2018 Initiates:

Abbott: Zane Cooper

Alvarado: Jessica Stafford, Aaron Svetlecic

Burleson: Kacey Baker, Kalei Bradberry, Bekah Gore, Alexis Marley, Kaitlyn McDonald, Luke Overfelt, Lexi Tamayo,

Bynum: Rachel Robertson

Cleburne: Regina Allen, Christopher Arthurs, Jayden Bryeans, Ryan Kimberlin, Monica Noriega, Jeremy Welty

Godley: Jennifer Clark

Grandview: Sarah Shaw

Hillsboro: Lindsi Price

Itasca: Gabrielle Bell

Joshua: Joshua Monk

Keene: Maddy Jobe

North Richland Hills: Andrew Mooty

Southlake:  Kyle Faith

Waco: Hawa Zackey

Whitney: Amy Anderson, Gracie Daniels, Nicholas Solis

Belgrade, Serbia: Milos Blagojevis

Madrid, Spain: Julian Rubio Blanco

spring ptk initiates