Celebrating 31 years of the Phillip H. Lowe Performing Arts Series

In the 1993-94 academic year, the Phillip H. Lowe Performing Arts Series presented its first season of concerts on the Hillsboro campus. Phillip Lowe, Coordinator of the Visual and Performing Arts (retired), organized the series with the help of Dr. William Auvenshine and initial seed money from Hill College as well as help from Scotty Cason in enlisting community leader support. From the beginning, it was decided that the series would be free to the public and that donations from the public and financial help from Hill College would be our only means of support. From a very modest initial budget of $2,000, support, both financial and in attendance, has grown tenfold in the past 30 years.

The Phillip H. Lowe Performing Arts Series presents free-admission programs per year to students, faculty, staff, and the community.  These programs bring outstanding performing artists of all genres to Hillsboro each year and, in addition to the concerts, allow for those in attendance to interact with the artists in the receptions which follow each event.


30 for 30 logo

In honor of the 30th year, the Phillip H. Lowe Performing Arts Series has brought entertainment to the students, faculty, and the community in a variety of mediums. We are looking to raise $30,000 to continue to bring robust entertainment to you. 

To donate, visit https://myhc.hillcollege.edu/ICS/Arts_Series%27_30th_Anniversary.jnz.

If you would like to support the Hill College Performing Arts Series, you are invited to become a BENEFACTOR ($100), a SUSTAINER ($50), a PATRON ($25), or a SUPPORTER ($10) of the Hill College Performing Arts Series. Also, for a donation of $1,000 or more you can become a LIFETIME BENEFACTOR. Names of Lifetime Benefactors, Benefactors, Sustainers, Patrons, and Supporters appear in each program.

All support donations are charitable contributions. Your donation can be made by calling the cashier’s office at 254.659.7707 or mailing a check or money order to:

Larry McCord
Hill College Visual and Performing Arts
112 Lamar Dr.
Hillsboro, TX 76645


Ayham Hammour
September 26, 2024 7:00 p.m.
University of North Texas One O'Clock Jazz Band
Grammy-award winning jazz band
October 24, 2024 7:00 p.m.